Muddy Trails: 5k Results

5 Apr

Saturday, April 3,  2010 saw my return to running public races at the Muddy Trails 5k in The Woodlands.  I haven’t run a race in years and was so excited to just be there!

I started walk/running to get myself back into training this January.  It’s been a slow & steady road to get ready but the effort is truly its own reward.

The day was hot & the trails sandy, not muddy as expected.  Pollen & kicked up dust were the order of the day.  I struggled through mile 2 but something clicked about then & I moved through the last 1.2 miles much easier.

My FINISH time was 41:28, making for about a 13 minute mile.  This IS an improvement.  While it is much slower than I would like, it was steady, for sure.  *pleased*

SPECIAL THANKS::

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank my friend James Berry for giving me the last 5k bib!  He came along for the run with his brother & there was one bib left besides the 10k bibs.  He offered it to me so he could stay with his brother & I cannot thank him enough.

My friends Terra, Nicci & Jeff came along for moral support &  their cheerleading really melted my heart.

Momma, Tim & Seth came along as my Official Support Team, my lifeblood & go-to crew.  Tim really took care of the details, all day long.  Thank you, Tim.  Seth was THE BEST volunteer, water bearer & ice bringer.  He brought me just what I needed when I needed it.  Adorable boy!

AND, I’ve saved the best for last.  My Momma is & has always been my most dedicated cheerleader.  Her love & support are invaluable to me, her photography skills always yield the most amazing memories & having her beside me makes me stronger every day.  Thank you, Momma.

Thank you all for your support.  It means the world to me.

Leave a Reply

