WELL BEING: Column Intro

11 Apr

Hello everyone. My name is Lynn Van Noy. I am pleased to announce that I will be writing a weekly column entitled “Well Being.” The purpose of this column is to share information regarding health, nutrition and fitness from the unique perspective of a health professional and fitness enthusiast in rural Texas.

I grew up in Latexo and developed a real passion for health and nutrition during my teen years. I have trained in a number of healing modalities including massage therapy and schools of meditation and craniosacral therapy in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. As a certified herbalist and licensed massage therapist of 12 years, I’ve worked and lived here in East Texas for the past 10 years.

When I read health focused articles, I find they are not necessarily relatable to our area. While we are blessed with wide open spaces, forest trails and fresh air, more metropolitan areas have easy access to pools, parks and a variety of complimentary therapies and therapists. It is important for us to share encouraging information regarding health, focus on our community and support the local people and places that offer fun, cooperative ways to learn, grow and exercise.

My articles will range anywhere from the healthy benefits of essential oils, fresh recipes, an explanation of alternative therapies, the latest findings on nutritional supplements to the best places to hike safely in East Texas. It is my desire to create an exchange of information for our optimal health.

At least once a month, I will post a “Q&A.” If you have a health question or wellness and fitness information you would like to share, please email me at lynnvannoy@gmail.com or mail questions or info to P.O. Box 455, Grapeland, Texas 75844.

I enjoy networking and look forward to sharing healthy thoughts with you.

The information in this column is not intended as medical advice. Its intention is solely informational and educational. 

Leave a Reply

