Spirit of Hope: 5k Results

24 Apr

This was my 4th 5k in 4 weeks!  And the title for this race was appropriate as the spirit of hope was alive & well.

After a long scenic drive through Saturday mornings storm, we arrived in Carthage, Tx.

I was impressed with the set up & the arrangements.  Everything was in good order & I even recognized a few faces!

The path led away from Carthage High School & out onto a major highway.  Yep, little orange cones were all that stood between us & big trucks.  *snickers*  The breeze was nice, concrete cool & wet, and the passersby were a fun distraction

The first 1/2 mile was an interesting discussion about tri training between myself and 4 others.  Then it was time to pace.  I saw this chic up ahead whose pace was perfect for me.  I played chase for most of the race but never overtook her because she was so consistent.. ie:  I’m not consistent (yet.).

 Then there was this long striding guy who I caught up with when he stopped to walk a bit.  He would pass me then fall back again & again.  Oh if only I had a long stride like that.. I’d leave everyone in the dust.  *grins*

I thanked him after the race for giving me some motivation with those L O N G strides.  He laughed & said “Little good it does me.”  And I completely understood, here was someone less consistent than me.

My official time was 37:45.  And when they called my name for 3rd Place in my age division.. I literally had an Oscar moment.  “No WAaaaaaaaY!”  *giggles*  I certainly hadn’t expected that!!

My 8 year old Nephew Seth finished his first 5k in 1 hour & 4 minutes.  We found out that he had used the path as an adventure in his head.. he even came back with treasures he’d found along the way; rocks, flowers.  I declare that an absolute WIN!

3 Responses to “Spirit of Hope: 5k Results”

  1. bennie mcleod May 22, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Congrats on your third place win in the 5k run.Seth did well too.

    Like

    • Lynn Van Noy May 22, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

      Oh.. thank you, Miss Bennie! We had such a good time all around!

      Like

  2. Paul Kennedy October 4, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Congratulations. I completed the run myself in 30 minutes flat. It was a great run when you consider the fact that we were also able to avoid the downpour all weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

