Smile =)

5 Sep
"smile like you mean it" by nemmi.anne<3

smile like you mean it

Where I’m from, we all wave and smile.  It’s practically like announcing “Hey, I’m from Texas” because no matter where I go or what I’m doing.. I smile at everyone.  Sure, it’s my nature but by virtue of living here, it is also my nurture.  It’s just the way we relate.    

As a toddler, when my parents told me to smile at the camera, my version of a smile was teeth baring and a snort, which many of my baby pictures can bear witness to.  It’s true, some smiles can resemble little wild animals, some smiles are goofy, some smiles are fake, but at least they’re trying.  Smiles are fun and some are just plain funny.   

One of my friends said “Ya, but everyone perceives smiling in different ways.”  While that is true, I believe it’s none of our business how others perceive us.  Their perceptions have everything to do with their own personal life experiences.   

William Arthur Ward said “A warm smile is the universal language of kindness.”   

Smiling transcends language, culture, education and upbringing.  Smiles are infectious.  You smile, they smile, we all smile.  Its fun to curl your lips up mischievously, guffaw grin like a donkey or notice the beaming smile on your face as you pass a mirror.   

There are plenty of benefits from smiling besides the obvious, that it makes you attractive and approachable.  But I also believe smiling can change lives.  

An example of this was one day this Summer, my Sister and I were driving through our downtown area.  A man pulled out of the Police Station and up to the 4-way stop opposite us.  Even from that distance you could see the red in his eyes and the tension in his jaw, a man totally enraged.  As usual, I automatically waved and smiled real big.  And in that instant, he burst into the biggest smile and looked like he might cry for joy.  Some hope was restored to him in that moment.  It’s amazing how something so small can have such a huge effect on others.   

Putting on a smile can..  

  • improve your immune system
  • release happy hormones like beta-endorphin and serotonin
  • relax your whole body
  • lower your blood pressure
  • make you look great
  • promote positivity
  • remind others that life is sweet
  • reduce stress
  • help you look on the bright side
  • improve confidence

With all those wonderful side-effects, I’ll bet you’re already smiling!  

This post is dedicated to 2 amazing women who make me smile everyday.  

Sweet Sandy & Darling Julia  

7 Responses to “Smile =)”

  1. Julia Guthrie September 5, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Aww I was smiling as I read this beautiful blog post, & then the last sentence made me squeeeeeee with joy! 🙂
    *radiates a BIG squishy bearhug of a smile in lovely Lynnivere’s direction* xxx

    Like

    • Lynn Van Noy September 5, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

      Oh Julia.. you constantly inspire me with your artistic abilities, Cornish tales and cooking magic. To be creative like that.. I aspire. *squeezes*

      Like

  2. Sandy September 5, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Beaming a big one your way! West, towards Texas. (or I could go the long way around, beam it East from the beach….)

    Bring on the smile lines…. and by the way those who snort when they laugh are extra blessed. You didn’t know that? Yup.

    Like

    • Lynn Van Noy September 5, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      If that’s true, I’m blessed eternal. *laughs*

      Thank you for inspiring me and for all the grins I get thinking of the things you say as I go through my day. I love it!

      Like

  3. Steve September 6, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    I come from NJ, where we wave at everyone we meet too, it just tends to be with four fingers down and one up. (if you catch my drift)

    I actually much prefer the Texas way of openness and kindness. Sometimes I am offput, because I grew up much more reserved but I always appreciate kindness and try to reciprocate. (despite the State I grew up in)

    Anyhow someone smiling and waving at you is always something that warms the heart.

    It is sort of ironic though, since for most animals, smiling (or showing their teeth) is a huge sign of aggression and dominance.

    Here are a few smileys to brighten your day

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • Lynn Van Noy September 7, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      You’re so right about animals baring teeth to show aggression & dominance. Although, growing up, we had a dog named Smiley.. & you could tell he was smilin’, not angry. Or maybe he just had a neurological problem. *giggles*

      I wandered through your fair state when I was a roadtrippin’ 17 yr old. The very loud consensus was that I talked & drove entirely too slow. *laughs* That being said, it seems it would take more of a conscious effort on your part to do all that grinning which is why I appreciate all those smiles you sent so much!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Smile =) « Well Being -- Topsy.com - September 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by eastofthesunart, lynnivere. lynnivere said: Look good & Feel good.. in an instant! SMILE =) http://wp.me/pBpjO-bB […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

