End of the Rainbow

17 Mar

Saint Patrick’s Day, with it’s shamrocks & Irish good luck, reminds me of what’s at the end of the rainbow.

I know because I’ve been there…

I guess I must have been 18 yrs old. I remember spending a relaxing day at a friend’s farm in Belott, Texas.

While my friend was inside cooking, I was standing on the back porch with a fresh glass of iced tea, gazing out over the deep green valley.

About that time a soft rain began to fall & out of nowhere, a Technicolor stream of light appeared as if by magic. Yes, a rainbow seemingly touched down in the middle of the valley.

Without a thought, I flung my tea glass & went running down the hill. It was so vivid, all I could think about was touching it. Well, and also maybe tasting it, but then again I’m pretty tactile.

Racing through the wet tall grass, I ran right up to the rainbow. Then around it. Finally, in pure amazement at how very real it was right before my eyes… I stepped into it.  Organic alchemy.   A moment of absolute bliss!

Science & nature in full embrace & there I was, giddy.. & reverently astounded.

I gulped in the sweetness & excitement of the moment.

No pot of gold.. there was something even better. Me. My life, my breath, my awe, my experience.

So from someone who’s been to the rainbows end & back, I got news for ya.. YOU are the magic. You’re the precious comodity. You’re the stroke of good luck. It’s all inside you…

2 Responses to “End of the Rainbow”

  1. Julie Gosh March 17, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I can so see you running after the rainbow, hair blowing behind you…..on the quest of life! This is lovely Lynn, precious, powerful, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

