All Zipped Up

11 May

Zip Line Texas

Zip Lining?!

Sure, why not!

As a spiritual traveller, I’m up for most any adventure!

We came.  We saw.  We sorta.. conquered.  *laughs*

Before I get too far into the story, let’s start at the beginning.

We visited Zip Nac, a very well put together zipline park in Nacogdoches, Texas.  It was clean, neat, & charming.  More than anything, I noticed it was super-supervised.

We had a good time gettin’ all trussed up!  There was all sorts of protection gear & we had to take an instructional class.

During the class, we were trained carefully in safety precautions.  How to manage the metal lining; turning your body, slowing, & stopping.  I zipped a few times & had a difficult time maneuvering it all with my left wrist.  I’m pretty healthy & fit, so it was surprising how much I was tweaking my wrist just in the practice runs.  This could be potentially bad for my massage practice, as I need my hands & wrists in excellent condition at all times.

Between my friend’s short waist & short arms, her top harness threatened to displace ribs.  So we tried a few different options & finally concluded to skip it.

Sometimes in life, you think you want something until you actually get there.  True, we could have forced ourselves into going through with it.  Instead, we looked at our options & made the smartest choice we had at the time.  I saved my wrists & she saved her ribs.  Fortunately, we are both tuned in enough to listen to our bodies.

So I hope yall enjoy the zipping!  I may try again at another park that perhaps offers safer regulation on manual operation using your hands.  Or maybe I’ll stick to seated zipline rides.

For now, I feel like we’re the Heroines in our own journeys.  I’m so proud!  Knowing my limits makes my life more exciting because I know I can trust myself.. & that IS the spiritual journey I conquered.

xox’s

Lynn++

2 Responses to “All Zipped Up”

  1. Marilyn May 11, 2014 at 8:46 pm #

    I’m impressed with your pretty blue helmet and the fact that you and your friend used good common sense. See you soon. Marilyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

